Am I prepared to apply the concepts presented to me on my future endeavor?

I remember the time I answered my Final Examination. It was about how to apply what I have learned in my future practice. One of the main topics I discussed in the exam was teaching students learn how to learn. My answer includes assessment, which will enable students to improve not only their cognitive capabilities but social and emotional competencies as well.

Never did I imagine that I was being prepared to understand what SEL meant – to teach students holistically. I became a fan of this perspective since then.

Through the discussionImage result for one size fits all that we had in module 4, I learned that I have to be cautious when using this contemporary approach. It does not mean that it will surely work for all. I have to hunt my assumptions down, reflect on the information I have gathered from the students and tailor a strategy with the guidance of the learned contemporary strategies. I can always practice autonomy to choose what is best for my (future) students.

Change is inevitable. As a future teacher, I strongly believe that I have to adapt to these changes. It will help teachers and researchers to know the impact of this new ideas and principles on the teaching and learning process. Knowing the advantages and disadvantages of these contemporary ideas will help to improve it more. It is continuous process of questioning, improving and learning. It is like EDS 103 again. You deliver the information through contemporary strategies, reflect (to modify, improve) and evaluate.

To answer my question, I think I am! My weapon is to continuously allow myself to learn new things and to get involved in trainings and seminars that will help in enhancing my strategies and approaches. This is not only for myself, but for the benefit of the student who will lead our future.

Ems


Image retrieved from Google link – https://www.google.com.ph/search?q=Change&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjiysbLtafUAhWIqY8KHVlIAc0Q_AUICigB&biw=1366&bih=662#tbm=isch&q=one+size+fits+all&imgrc=kWwCg7zU1iv4EM:

Leave a comment