Reflection is a process done before, during and after the process of assessment. It is looking for ways to improve teachers’ methods to meet all the needs of the learners.

This was how I understood reflection. Upon reading the modules, I have encountered the term hegemonic assumptions. These assumptions are those that we think are good for us, but eventually lead to negative effects on our health, physically and mentally. I assumed that as teachers, it is our prime responsibility to meet all the learners’ need. Image result for assumption huntingI never realized its negative effect on me if I did not know what assumptions can do to us. When I become a teacher and do all the things to satisfy the learning needs of my students and some of them fail, what will I feel? If I had not uncovered this hegemonic assumption, it may demoralized me or will let me work 24/7 and forget my family (I know it is over reacting, but who knows?) out of conscience that I have not met the needs of my students.

To meet all the needs of the students through reflection. This type of assumption is causal assumption. I thought that by practicing reflection, I could meet the needs of the students, but the resources I have read proved me wrong. According to Scales, reflective practice “is the key to improvement.” I learned that when you engage in reflective practice, you become a lifelong learner. You improve yourself through new ways of teachings. Reflective practice also has an effect on the learners – they become reflective learners, too, which makes them active learners. Daniel Goleman also mentioned that when we acknowledge our feelings when reflecting, it can improve our emotional intelligence.

As a student. If I were not open to the process of reflection, I could’ve continued accepting that common sense as valid. The activity of pointing out my assumption opened my mind to the process of critical reflection. I promise that I will continually apply critical reflection so that it will become my second nature to avoid making unsound decisions in the future.

Ems


This is about an assumption I have written:

…hegemonic assumptions. These assumptions are those that we think are good for us, but eventually lead to negative effects on our health, physically and mentally.

As a future educator and a student, I only saw that the lack of critical reflection can only affect teachers. I did not consider that it can affect student’s perception, too.

Looking through my peers’ perspective. I am updating this because my classmates (Hello, Ms. Kaye and Sir Nur!) helped me look at the lack of critical reflection in a different way. I assumed that the lack of critical affection only affects teachers. Looking at that assumption, I realized that it could also disengage teacher’s intention and student’s interpretation.  

Lesson learned: Wait for peers’ comments on Discussion Forum before writing on your eJournal. LOL

Ems


Reference:

The Reflective Teacher (Scales, P. (2008). The reflective teacher. Teaching in the lifelong learning sector, 7 – 26. Maidenhead, Berkshire: Open University Press.) – http://www.mheducation.co.uk/openup/chapters/9780335222407.pdf

What it Means to be a Critically Reflective Teacher (Brookfield, S. D. (1995). What it means to be a critically reflective teacher (Chap. 1). Becoming a critically reflective teacher (pp. 1-27). San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass Publishers.) – https://www.kent.ac.uk/teaching/documents/qualifications/criticallyreflectiveteacher.pdf

Becoming Critically Reflective (Brookfield, S. D. (1995). Becoming critically reflective (Chap. 2). Becoming a critically reflective teacher (pp. 28-48). San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass Publishers.) – https://teaching.temple.edu/sites/tlc/files/brookfield_becoming_critically_reflective.pdf

Image resources:

Think foolishly – how to think like a fool – https://www.google.com.ph/search?q=assumptions&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiv7J2P9uDTAhVFNI8KHXceBcMQ_AUIBigB&biw=1242&bih=602#tbm=isch&q=assumption+hunting&imgrc=u4kxlIQAXqZRuM:

 

Leave a comment